Car accidents can be traumatic experiences that cause injuries and emotional stress. A knowledgeable and experienced lawyer could be the difference between a favorable settlement and a settlement where you don’t get everything you’re owed. If you’ve been in a car accident, a West Virginia car accident lawyer from DiPiero Simmons McGinley & Bastress, PLLC can help you with your case. We’re ready to answer your questions and address any concerns that you have with your case and get you the compensation you need.
The lawyers at DiPiero Simmons McGinley & Bastress, PLLC have proudly represented West Virginia citizens for 40 years. We treat every individual’s case with the focus and care that they deserve. Our team draws from unique experiences and strategies that allow us to choose the best course of action for you.
What Do You Do After a Car Accident?
There are certain actions you have to take in the wake of an accident to make sure you’ve complied with the law and haven’t put your future car accident claim in jeopardy. After an accident, you have to stay at the scene. Leaving the accident will turn the car accident into a hit and run, a much more serious crime that has severe consequences like jail time and hefty fines.
The most important thing to remember is to remain calm. If you’re able to move, make sure to move your vehicle out of traffic if you can. Once you’re safely out of the road you can assess the situation. Watch out for possible immediate dangers like car fires. If a vehicle is one fire, move a safe distance away from it and call 911. You’re also responsible to help any severely injured parties by contacting authorities and an ambulance if needed.
Everyone involved in the accident needs to exchange information. You should get:
- Names and Contact Information.
- Insurance Policies.
- Driver’s License Numbers.
- The Make, Model, and Vehicle Identification Numbers.
It may help your claim to take photographic evidence of the accident showing the scene of the accident and any damages done to your car. Any eyewitnesses could provide an unbiased perspective and help corroborate your story. Contact an accident lawyer so you can start to make your claim and provide all of the above information you’ve gathered.
West Virginia Auto Insurance
Auto insurance laws vary from state to state. In West Virginia, the person responsible for the accident needs to pay for the damages and medical expenses of the person they hit. The car accident victim can also decide to sue for pain and suffering and lost wages.
West Virginia has set amounts for minimum liability coverage that each driver needs to have. Failure to produce proof of insurance could have penalties of license suspension and paying fines.
- Property Damage: $10,000
- Bodily Injury to a Single Person: $20,000
- All Injuries: $40,000
Knowing the accident and insurance laws in West Virginia will help you know what to do in the event of a car accident and can help you avoid accidentally harming your claim.